What’s In Your Suitcase?

Am I the only one who seems to be packing something both quirky and unique to the destination every time I go on a trip?

When my sister and I went to China, my mom packed us an entire suitcase (back when airlines weren’t greedy and allowed two suitcases on international flights) full of snacks!

This past winter, when I was coming up with a packing list for my semester in England, I insisted upon rain boots and a cute-but-portable umbrella after being warned constantly of the raining (not an exaggeration… at all). I was so sure that this was what I wanted that when my bag was over the limit at the airport, I took the rain boots out, put the tennis shoes in, and wore those big, rubbery, polka dotted suckers from Detroit to Paris to Manchester. Of course, I promptly took them off once I boarded the plane each time, but that’s beside the point. And it was SO worth it…

Look! My umbrella made it places! 😉

Image

Apparently this place is sort-of-a-big-deal. You’d think I didn’t know this since I’ve never wrote about it or even photo bombed this blog.

What’s sort of silly things have you dragged around the world with you? Any special item you always have to pack?

About Toni Lupro

"I've got a plan, I've got an atlas in my hands."

3 responses to “What’s In Your Suitcase?

  1. That umbrella is so pretty!

    The places I fly to are just 2-3 hours away, and everything is much cheaper in those places as compared to where I’m staying at, so I don’t really pack much except for clothes and shoes. But I do have a little blue umbrella that travels with me (it has seen the Taj Mahal).

    • Woohoo for travel umbrellas! 🙂 I’ve heard of people taking a figurine or a stuffed animal (or something along those lines) everywhere they travel and snapping a photo of it all over the world. I think that’d be a fun idea! (More fun that rain on vacation, haha.)

  2. I wore my winter boots when we first arrived to visit Dubai because I needed them for someplace cold after (can’t remember where now though). I only wore them because they weighed the bag down and I didn’t want to pay for the bag… sometimes it’s boots, sometimes a big winter jacket… anything to avoid paying those bag fees (I don’t know why most of my travel combines both cold and hot places).

Leave a Reply

